Skip to main content
Southern University Alumni Federation
Our 2018-2019 SUAF-WDC Chapter Members 

Donna Adams

James Albritton

Bryson Alexander

Frank Alexander

Kwamme Anderson

LeVar Armstrong

Lynette Aytch

Kimberly Bagley Fortner

Ura Jean Bailey

Sylvia Bailey-Charles

Anthony Baise

Chasity Ball

Ebony Baylor

Ivory Berry

Rodney Bilbrew

Kenny Blackson

Jami Blackston

Sean Blount

Myesha Braden

Tyrone Bradley

Erin Braxton

Sabrina Breedlove

Kelly Brown

Lillie Brown

Quintus Brown

Verna Brown

Vincent Brown

Sabrina Burrell

William Burrell

Alicia Butler

Theonita Butler

Jaide Carswell

Valencia Brown Chenier

Naomi Collier

Fantashia Cooper

Karen Cotton-Gross

Carla Cotwright-Williams

David Craig

Lance Curry

Perry Daniels

Ursela Daniels

Chonya Davis-Johnson

Andrea Dawson

Carolyn W. Dinkins

Robert Dinkins

Kyle Douglas

Darrell Dudley-Govan

Mary Dunaway

Armond Duncan

Evy Edwards

Angelia Farnell

Justin Ford

Marva Frazier

Larry Frelow

Ophelia Gosserand Stephens

Anthony Green, Jr.

Brittany Green

Danyell Griffin

Mieke Hampton

Anetra Harbor

Sheila Harmon

Debrina Harrell

Janette Harris

Rudolph Harris

P. Lee Harvey

Leonard Haynes

Willie Hensley

Donald Hickman

Charles Hicks

Clifton Hicks

Willie Hines

Marlon Hite

Edwin "Eddy" Hogan

Chris Holland

Peggy Holland

Angela Hubbard

Tony R. Hunter 

Patrice Isaac

Daryl Jackson

Danny Johnson

Jennifer Johnson

Mary A. Johnson

Renee Johnson

Wilfred A. Johnson

Carol Jones

Edna Jones

Laurne' Jones

Vonda Rhodes Kemp

Gwendolyn King

Kelley King

June Lane

Isaac Larry

Curtis Lawrence

Edgar Lewis

Edwin Lewis

Gary Lockett

Treffaney Lowe

Staci Luckett

Jerrard Maniece

Jeremy Maniece

Amos Matthews

Dana Matthews

Shayla McCullough

Elyse McFadden

Ivan McGee

Ericka McGowan

Cassandra McGowan

Carrie McHenry

Cedric McNeal

DeWayne Miles

Jocelyn Mishoe

Roger Mishoe

Erica Moss

Shahidah Muhammad

Jonathan Newell

Victor Nichols

Kendra Perkins Norwood

Debo Ogunrinde

John Oubre

Marquia Parker

Gabriel Patton

Yolanda Pearson

Krystal Perkins

Chelsea Pickens

Adrian Plater

Michael Plowden

Philip Pratt

Nicole Priester

Linda Reed

Anthony A. Rene

Ursula Robinson

Cindy Rosales-Cooper

Brian Salsberry

Thoressa Sanford-Love

Damien Savage

Elsie Scott

Belinda Sholas

MacArthur Sholas

Antoria Simms

Calvin Sims

Bettye Smith

Don Smith

Willie Smith Jr.

Maya Solomon

Karl Spells

Jerome Stephens

George Sutton

January Taylor

Angela Thomas

Megan Thomas

Doug Turner

Kimleon Turner

Regina Valentine

Paula Verrett

Kim Walk

Regina Ware

Donald Webb

Giselle Whitfield

Pamela Whitley

Angela Williams

Bettina Williams

Carolyn Williams

Willie Williams

Yul Williams

Beattra Wilson

Jennifer Wilson

Norma Wilson

Jaqi Wright

DC Chapter History



Southern University Alumni Federation

Washington, D.C. Chapter


The Washington, D.C. Chapter, Southern University Alumni Federation has an extensive history.  The late Sherman Briscoe, former president and member of the  Board of Directors, was the first to chronicle the events associated with the founding of the Southern University Alumni Club of Washington in the 1940s.  Some of the first members of the "Club" included Guy Hanks, Lucius Earles, Alton Willis, Lavern Marshall, Annette Reid, Beatrice Alexander and Claudia Rayford.  In 1962, Willie Haywood Johnson, E. Marie Johnson, Claudette Smith Nelson, Inez Mayo Bradley, Anthony Rene', Rudolph and Janette Hoston Harris, Dowell Davis, and Blanchard White reorganized the chapter. During the sixties, the chapter began to host several activities, including picnics, scholarship fund raisers, receptions, tutorial programs, college fairs, and an annual cash contribution to the D.C. Clothe-A-Thon.


The first officers elected in 1963 were:


Anthony Rene', President              Mary Bailey, Asst. Secretary

Willie Haywood Johnson, 1st VP    Donald Moss, Chaplain

Constance Rotan, 2nd VP             Herman Moore, Treasurer

Rudolph Harris, 3rd VP                  Thomas Todd, General Counsel

George Williams, Exec. Secretary John Johnson, General Counsel

Dowell Davis, Sergeant-at-Arms     Blanchard White, Parliamentarian


Since 1963, the chapter has sponsored several Blue and Gold Dinner-Dances.  Each year an outstanding alumnus was announced.  Some former recipients are:  Anthony Rene', Willie Haywood Johnson, Barbara Davis, George Williams, Annette Reid, Ronald Harper, Joseph Nash, and Willie Blanchard White.


During the 1980s, Southern University experienced some very tough times.  The university was targeted for elimination.  The Washington D.C. Chapter, lead by the chapter president at that time ,Charles "Chuck" Brown, raised over $70,000 to support the University's Legal Defense Fund.  The chapter's efforts motivated other alumni chapters to do the same.  If the University's legal efforts had failed, Southern University would no longer be a Historically Black College.  The funds raised to support the long court battle helped Southern University survive one of the most critical periods in its history.



In 1980, and again in 1997, the chapter hosted the National Alumni Conference.  The 1997 Conference, chaired by The Honorable William Jefferson, generated over $60,000 for the National Alumni Federation.  The 1997 Conference is still the most profitable in the history of the Federation.  Through the years, the chapter has served as host for the Southern University family by holding receptions honoring university presidents, the university's choirs, football and basketball teams and other university officials.


Under the leadership of McArthur Sholas, former chapter president, the chapter began sponsoring an Annual Scholarship Dinner-Dance to generate funds to provide scholarships for students from the Washington metropolitan area to attend Southern University.  The first Dinner-Dance was chaired by G. Jean Davis and Dickie S. Carter and generated over $5000 to establish the SUAF-WDC Scholarship Fund. 


Pamela Whitley, (chapter president 1993-1997) and Calvin Sims (chapter president 1997-2001), were very instrumental in the continued growth of the Scholarship Program   Since the first Dinner Dance, Alma Cravins-Essex, James C. Smith, Horace Jones, and Willie Hensley have served a chairpersons of the annual event, each giving very generously of their time and resources to help the scholarship program grow.  Since 1992, the chapter has awarded over $50,000 in scholarships.


Over the years, the SUAF-WDC Chapter has used the camaraderie between classmates, schoolmates, friends, and family to generate funds to support the SUAF-Scholarship Program and provide other financial support to Southern University. The members and WDC supporters continually support events such as the Annual Dinner-Dance, an Annual Louisiana Food Festival, the Annual Bayou Bash and the Annual Bayou Classic. 


The following individuals have served as president of the Washington D.C. Chapter since 1963:  Anthony Rene', Willie Haywood Johnson, Paul Collins, Charles White, Lawrence Moore, Joseph Nash, Joseph Connors, Javetta Richardson Piper, Ollie Anderson, Ronald Harper, Charles "Chuck" Brown, McArthur Sholas, Pamela Whitley, Calvin Sims, Conrad Meyer, Cassandra Robinson, Rory Gray, and Shayla McCullough.

The SUAF-WDC Chapter had a great time on Friday, 15 March for SU & Friends Happy Hour at Sim's Creole Kitchen Pop Up at 1400 Irving Street NW #109.   See you at the Crawfish and Crab Boil on Saturday, 4 May at Fort Hunt Park in Alexandria, VA.

The 2019 Family and Friends Crawfish and Crab Boil is Saturday, 4 May at Fort Hunt Park.

The Advocate Newspaper

The SU Athletic Department

Site Mailing List  Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 

Washington, DC Chapter of SU Alumni Federation
Post Office Box 75052
Washington, DC 20013
Phone: (703) 855-8423